We did it!

Yes, we did it.  Two visually impaired women navigated the mall, the parking lot, and a Tex-Mex restaurant and back again.  Now this shouldn’t be such a big deal but for us it was like a coming out experiment.  You see I have only been legally blind for less than three years and the first year I hibernated since I was in denial and just a complete mess.  This year I’ve sought assistance at my local Lighthouse.  They offer visually impaired people mobility training, technology, kitchen, and daily living assistance that enable us to regain our independence.

My mobility trainer is “the man”.  I’ll refer to him as “M”.  “M” would meet with me at home and then we went everywhere.  He gave me the confidence to take the city bus by myself and know that I can do whatever I put my mind to it just may require advanced planning.  “M” and I completed mobility training in a record 3 and 1/2 months.  I felt on top of the world.

One thought on “We did it!

Leave a Reply

